You're being watched.
That's right, I keep a very watchful eye on my stats. One of the things that always interested me is what search terms people use to find my site. Sometimes I see a search term that I know is answered on my site, and that makes me glad. But sometimes I see that somebody has found my site by searching for something that I wasn't able to answer for them.
One of the things that people seem to be curious about is piping gel. There seem to be a lot of people wondering whether a vegan piping gel exists, or whether it's okay for vegans to eat piping gel. Initially I started looking for recipes online, where I quickly discovered several piping gel recipes that called for gelatine. Most of us know that gelatin isn't even vegetarian, much less vegan. I decided to try and formulate a recipe. I picked up a few different brands of pectin (which is plant-based) from the store and started looking at other ingredients already in my pantry. I have xantham gum, tapioca starch, even guar gum. And finally I did what I should have started off by doing, and looked at the ingredients on my tub of Wilton Piping Gel.
Turns out Wilton's regular old store-bought piping gel is already vegan. There's not a mention of gelatin to be found on the ingredient list, and everything that is there is plant-based. I even went a step further and emailed Wilton, who responded:
"Thank you for your inquiry.
There is no gelatin in Wilton's Piping Gel, stock # 704-105.
If we can be of any other assistance, please contact us."
Vegans, rejoice: your search is over! While I don't normally advocate a specific brand or product, I will now make an exception. Wilton brand Piping Gel, according to the ingredients label, is entirely plant-based, and so should fit within your guidelines. I won't list the ingredients here, because I haven't asked permission and I don't want to get Wilton mad at me, but feel free to head down to your favorite cake supply store and check it out for yourself.